DAMIEN Oliver capped a stunning return from a career trough to capture his seventh Scobie Breasley medal at the Victorian awards function at Crown Casino.

Oliver, returning from a 10-month suspension following his $10,000 bet on Miss Octopussy at Moonee Valley several years ago, now owns a seventh ‘Scobie’.

It was Oliver’s first success in the medal named after legendary jockey Scobie Breasley since 2004.

The 42-year-old really always had control of his latest accolade despite missing large chunks at the beginning and end of the season.

Oliver amassed 58 votes to assign Rawiller (44) to second place – one position higher than the runner- up’s previous best effort in 2009 and 2013.

For the sixth time in his career Craig Newitt (38) filled a top three position on the vote tally, taking third place ahead of previous winner Glen Boss (29) and Dwayne Dunn (28).

Oliver, who had previously won the Medal in its 1996 inauguration, as well as in 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004, secured the top votes from stewards at 14 meetings last season.

Votes for the Scobie Breasley Medal are lodged on a 3-2-1 basis by Racing Victoria stewards after each of the 110 metropolitan meetings of the 2013-14 season.

The award provided the highlight on a memorable night for the 42-year-old who also collected the inaugural Roy Higgins Medal as the winner of last season’s Victorian Metropolitan Jockeys’ Premiership.

Oliver has now been crowned nine times as the leading metropolitan jockey.

Champion jumps jockey Steven Pateman equalled the record held by Craig Durden when he claimed a seventh Tommy Corrigan Medal in eight years.

Pateman polled 28 votes to defeat Arron Lynch and John Allen, who tied for second on 13 votes.